You can now unsend your Facebook messages if you're quick enough

Gerardo Harmon
February 7, 2019

Facebook Messenger now allows you to delete sent messages. Once you select this option, the message will only be removed from your screen, but not anyone else's. But you better act fast - the grace period lasts only 10 minutes.

Participants in a group conversation receive a message saying "This message was deleted" to alert them of the change.

Most of us would have accidentally sent a message to a wrong person or mistyped something during a chat.

That feature is now available to users.

Marshmello Fortnite Event - Watch the Marshmellow event AGAIN, here
There's another item included in this package is Mello Rider which is a Glider tweaked in Marshmello Style. Fortnite fans are getting ready for the upcoming Showtime event happening later today.

Rumors about this update began swirling almost a year ago, in the wake of the discovery that company CEO Mark Zuckerberg has had the ability in the past to delete his messages regardless of their sending date.

The company stopped using the secret feature, which it said it had built "to protect our executives' communications", when it was discovered in April 2018, and promised not to delete messages again until it could make "a broader delete message feature available".

For those who are wondering how it will work; essentially, long-pressing a sent text will present two options: Remove for Everyone and Remove for You.

The 10-minute window that Facebook is giving users to delete their message is likely to cause the most complaints, but it's safe to assume that some people will also not be happy that message deletion is broadcast to other chatters. Once "removed", the message will not reappear in the draft space. Although Mark Zuckerberg has ordered Messenger, Instagram, and WhatsApp's reconfiguration to incorporate end-to-end encryption - a security measure that ensures messages are not read by people outside the conversation - the feasibility of accomplishing such a task remains up for debate.

MMA fighter wanted on murder charges escapes
Marks fights under the moniker "Spider-Man" but hasn't stepped into the ring since last March, according to the MMA site Sherdog. Cedric Marks is seen in the video shirtless while wearing trousers that appear to be part of an orange prison jumpsuit.

The new unsend feature, which was initially developed specifically for CEO Mark Zuckerberg. was released by the company on Tuesday.

Facebook Messenger will also let you remove messages for yourself.

If you manage to do this in time, the only remnant will be a note, informing others in the chat that the message has been deleted. though you must always be wary of those trigger happy screen-shotting pricks.

After selecting 'Remove for Everyone, ' users will get a warning that says: 'You'll permanently remove this message for all chat members.

Gunners enter race to sign Idrissa Gueye ahead of PSG
Gueye has a groin problem and is unlikely to feature against Wolves on Saturday but Silva said: 'I know him very well. The Everton manager went on to reveal that he was not aware of how close or not Gueye was to a move.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER